Group Management

Last updated: 2020-03-13 14:51:31

PDF

Log in to the IM console and click the target app card. In the left sidebar, choose Group Management, and you can then manage group custom fields based on your business needs.
You can also manage groups by calling RESTful APIs.

Adding Groups

  1. On the Group Management page, click Add Group.
  2. Configure the following parameters in the "Add Group" dialog box that appears:
    • Group name: enter the name of the group. This is a required parameter with a maximum length of 30 bytes.
    • Group owner ID: enter the group owner ID. This is an optional parameter and you must enter a registered username.
    • Group type: set the group type. Supported group types are Private, Public, ChatRoom, AVChatRoom, and BChatRoom. For more information, see Group Types.
  3. Click OK to save the settings.
    When group creation is completed, you can see the group ID, group name, group owner, type, and creation time in the group list.

Viewing Group Details

On the Group Management page, click View details for the target group to go to the Group Details page. On this page, you can view and modify the group’s basic information and manage group members.

Modifying basic information

  1. On the Group Details page, click Edit in the basic information area.

  2. In the dialog box that appears, you can modify the group name and group introduction.

  3. Click OK to save the settings.

Managing group members

Add a group member

  1. On the Group Details page, click Add group member in the group member management area.
  2. In the dialog box that appears, enter the username of the user to be added.

    You must enter a registered username.

  3. Click OK to save the setting.
    After the user is added, you can see the username, nickname, joining time, sending time of the last message, and role in the group member list.

Delete a group member

  1. You can delete group members in the following ways on the Group Details page:
    • Single deletion: click Delete for the target group member.
    • Batch deletion: select all the members that you want to delete and click Delete group members above the group member list.
  2. In the dialog box that appears, click Confirm.
    After deletion, the deleted users are removed from the group.

Sending Messages

  1. You can send messages in the following ways on the Group Management page:
    • Send the group message to one group: click Send message for the target group.
    • Send the group message to multiple groups: select all the target groups to which you want to send the message, and click Send message above the group list.
  2. In the "Send Group Message" dialog box that appears, enter the content of the message.

    The maximum length of the message is 300 words.

  3. Click OK to send the message.

Dismissing Groups

After a group is dismissed, all information for the group will be deleted and cannot be restored.

  1. You can dismiss groups in the following ways on the Group Management page:
    • Dismiss a single group: click Dismiss for the target group.
    • Dismiss multiple groups: select all the target groups that you want to dismiss, and click Dismiss groups above the group list.
  2. In the dialog box that appears, click Confirm.
    After a group is dismissed, all information for the group will be deleted and cannot be restored.