A delete marker is used to mark a versioned object as “deleted” in COS. It has an object key and version ID just like an object, but with the following differences:
To permanently delete a delete marker, specify its version ID in a DELETE Object versionId request. If you use a DELETE request to delete a delete marker without specifying its version ID, COS will not delete the delete marker, but instead, insert another delete marker.
The following figure shows how a simple DELETE on a delete marker removes nothing, but adds a new delete marker to the bucket.
In a versioning-enabled bucket, a new delete marker has a unique version ID. Therefore, one object may have multiple delete markers in the same bucket. To delete a delete marker permanently, you must include its version ID in a DELETE Object versionId request.
The following figure shows how you can permanently delete a delete marker with a DELETE Object versionId request.
You can delete a delete marker only after the root account grants the
To permanently delete a delete marker: