If you need to troubleshoot any problems related to configurations or Web applications (for example, shutdown to reset a password and upgrade services), and you want to modify the applications without triggering the auto scaling process, you can disable the scaling group and recover it after troubleshooting.
After you disable a scaling group, the automatic capacity scaling of the scaling group will not be triggered, but the restrictions on the scaling group remain in effect.
Automatically triggered activities include:
Scaling group restrictions include:
If you have finished troubleshooting, you can recover the auto scaling configuration.