开发规范

最后更新时间:2021-06-28 10:52:04

    数据库设计规范

    禁止类

    禁止数据库中创建过多的表
    在 wiretiger 引擎中,每个集合都需要创建多个文件来保存元数据、数据及索引,磁盘上过多的小文件会导致性能下降。建议单个数据库表个数控制在100个以内,整个数据库实例表数量控制在2000个以内。

    建议类

    • 建议数据库名以 db 开头,不能包含除 _ 以外的特殊字符,所有字母全部小写,数据库名不超过64个字符。
    • 建议集合名以 t_开头,不能包含除 _ 以外的特殊字符、集合名不超过120个字符。

    索引设计规范

    禁止类

    • 禁止线上库不带 background 参数建索引
      MongoDB 4.2 及之前的版本,createIndex() 命令默认是 foreground 模式,这种模式下创建索引会阻塞数据库的所有操作,造成业务中断,线上业务执行 createIndex() 务必添加 background参数。

      注意:

      background 需要在 createIndex() 命令的 options 参数中,示例:db.test.createIndex({a: 1}, {unique:true, background: true}),切勿将不同的参数分开,示例:db.test.createIndex({a: 1}, {unique:true}, {background: true})

    • 排序字段需要放到索引中,避免业务大量在内存中排序造成数据库 OOM(Out Of Memory)

      • MongoDB 4.2 及之前的版本,一条 sql 默认只允许使用32MB内存进行排序,如果超出会提示 Sort operation used more than the maximum 33554432 bytes of RAM 错误,此时可以通过执行 db.runCommand({ getParameter : 1, "internalQueryExecMaxBlockingSortBytes" : 1 } ) 调整排序内存。
        但是线上业务禁止调整,因为这样会让数据库 OOM 的概率增大。建议将排序字段加到索引中,通过索引排序实现排序能力。
      • MongoDB 4.4 版本,虽然提供了磁盘排序的选项以避免排序消耗大量内存,但是建议最好使用索引排序。
    • 禁止一个表内创建过多的索引
      MongoDB 插入每条数据的时候同时需要写索引。索引越多,写入数据时就要花费更多的代价。因此禁止对索引的滥用,如对每个字段都建立索引,哪怕不会根据该字段进行查询。建议单表索引最多不超过10个。

    建议类

    • 建议定期清理无用索引
      索引在写操作时会带来额外的资源消耗,因此需要尽量精简索引。
      MongoDB 4.4 之后的版本,建议使用 hidden index 先隐藏掉无用的索引,隐藏后业务确认正常再删除索引。

    • 按照最左匹配原则,如果单列索引已经被复合索引包含,建议删除
      额外的索引会造成写操作时候性能浪费。

    • 建议尽量避免使用 $ne/$nin 等操作
      和其他数据库(如 MySQL)一样,不等于及 not in 类的操作无法有效利用索引,尽量应该避免。

    • 建议在区分度较大的字段上建立索引
      如果索引字段区分度较小,查询扫描的行数依然会比较多,查询效率较低,对数据库负载影响较大。因此建立索引的字段尽量应该有较大的区分度。

    数据库操作规范

    禁止类

    • 禁止上线未经过 explain() 确认执行计划的 sql
      上线 sql 前需要 explain() 确认执行计划是否符合预期,否则上线可能会引起故障。

    • 线上环境禁止关闭鉴权,特别是开放外网访问的数据库
      关闭鉴权会将数据库暴露给所有人,特别是数据库服务器开通了外网。建议线上环境打开鉴权。如果一定要关闭鉴权,务必设置防火墙规则或 IP 白名单。

    • 禁止在 admin 库、local 中存储业务数据
      admin 库读写时会加 db 锁,影响性能;local库只会保存到本地,不会复制到从节点,如果发生主从切换会丢失数据。因此禁止使用 admin 库和 local 库。

    • 禁止执行 db.dropDatabase() 命令后再创建同名的 db

      • MongoDB 4.0 及之前的版本,官方文件要求删除 db 并创建同名 db 后,业务读写数据前需要在所有 mongos 节点上执行重启或 flushRouterConfig 命令。
      • MongoDB 4.2 及之后的版本,需要对所有的 mongos 和 mongod 节点重启或执行 flushRouterConfig 命令。
        因此禁止在业务代码中直接进行 db.dropDatabase() 命令后再创建同名的 db。运维人员在做该操作时,请务必按照官方文档要求进行所有必要的操作。
    • 高并发高性能场景,禁止过度使用 in 和 or
      in 或者 or 条件语句在数据库底层需要转换成多次查询,过多的 in 和 or 操作在高并发高性能场景,会严重影响请求的响应时延及数据库负载。

    • 高并发高性能场景,禁止将复杂的运算操作交给数据库进行
      MongoDB 提供了强大的计算能力(如 MapReduce 等),这些特性对开发人员非常友好,极大减轻了业务逻辑。但是这些运算不可避免是需要资源的,如果将复杂运算下沉到数据库层,高并发场景势必会给数据库造成极大的负担,数据库一旦故障会造成整个系统雪崩。
      建议在高并发高性能的场景下,数据库操作保持简单,复杂的运算交给服务器并适当在数据库前端增加缓存。

    • 线上业务禁止直接进行批量数据 remove
      remove 命令到数据库后会先查询符合删除条件记录的 _id,之后一条条按照 _id 进行删除,并记录到 oplog 中(删除每条记录都会写一条 oplog)。
      当满足 remove 条件的数据较多时对数据库压力较大,且极容易引起主从延迟突然增大。
      线上业务建议直接用 drop 集合或用脚本一条条删除并控制删除速度。或尽量使用 ttl 索引。

    • 业务禁止自定义 _id 字段
      _id 是 MongoDB 内部的默认主键,默认这是一个自增的序列。如果自定义 _id 并且业务无法保证 _id 递增,每次插入数据后,_id 索引不可避免需要对 B 树索引进行调整,这将对数据库带来额外的负担。

    • 副本集直连 mongod 节点的场景,使用禁止只在连接串中配置单个 IP;分片集群集群禁止只连接单个 mongos 地址(除非 mongos 和应用服务器部署在一起)
      线上业务如果只连接副本集主节点,一旦数据库发生 HA 会造成写入中断;如果只连接单个 mongos,这个 mongos 故障后会造成业务中断。

    • 线上业务禁止设置 Write Concern j:false
      Write Concern 默认一般为 j:true,表示服务端会写入 journal log 完成后再向 client 端返回。一般请勿设置 j:false,否则进程突然故障重启后,可能会造成数据丢失。

    • update 语句中禁止不带条件的更新
      推荐保持 multi 为默认值(false),避免程序 bug(如由于某些异常造成 query 参数传了{})造成全表数据更新。

    • 禁止更新数组内部分元素时,将数组全部拿出来更新后再写回去
      推荐使用 arrayFileters 仅对需要的元素进行修改。

    建议类

    • 建议局部读写而不是全读全写
      查询语句中应尽量使用 $projection 运算符投影出需要的字段;在 update 命令中如果只是修改某个字段,建议使用 $set,请勿将文档全部读出来修改后再全量写进去。

    • 线上环境慎重使用 db.collection.renameCollection() 命令
      renameCollection() 在4.0及之前的版本会阻塞 db 的所有操作;在4.2及其之后版本会阻塞当前表及目标表的操作。而且 renameCollection() 执行期间会造成游标失效、changeStream 失效及带 --oplog 命令的 mongodump 失败等问题。线上环境禁止高峰期直接操作。

    • 建议核心业务配置 WriteConcern 为 {w: “majority”} 参数
      默认情况下,一般驱动的 WriteConcern 配置为 {w:1},即在主节点写入完成后认为请求成功。如果机器突然发生故障并且写入的数据还未复制到从节点,这样的配置会导致数据丢失。
      因此对于线上的核心业务,建议配置 {w: “majority”},这样的配置会等数据同步大多数节点后再返回客户端。当然可靠性和性能不能兼顾,选择了 {w: “majority”} 配置后请求的延迟也会相应的增加。

    不建议类

    • 除非必要,不要在高性能场景大量使用多文档事务
      MongoDB 4.0 及之后的版本,MongoDB 提供了多文档事务。但是多文档事务只是 MongoDB 数据库能力的补充,在高并发高性能场景下,大规模使用多文档事务需要进行充分的压测。
      一般来说,多文档事务提交前需要在内存中保留快照,这可能消耗大量的 cache 从而导致性能下降。

    • 不建议使用短连接
      MongoDB 的认证逻辑是一个比较复杂的运算过程,而且默认 MongoDB 会为每个连接创建一个线程。大量短连接会对数据库产生较大的负担,特别是没有 mongos 的副本集集群。建议使用长连接,详细参考 mongodb url 中 Connection Pool 参数。

    分片集群设计规范

    禁止类

    • 如果使用 _id 字段作为片键,禁止使用范围分片
      id 默认是一个递增的序列,随着数据量的增加会一直增大。如果 _id 作为片键并使用范围分片,集群随着数据的插入不断的进行 balance。

    • 分片集群禁止直连 mongod 节点写数据
      分片集群应该通过 mongos 写数据,直接通过 mongod 写入的数据无路由信息,会导致访问不到。

    • 线上环境禁止长时间关闭 balancer 和 autoSplit 配置
      关闭 balance 会导致片之间数据不均衡,关闭 autoSplit 可能会产生 jumbo chunk。

    • 分片表尽量避免不带片键的查询
      分片表不带片键进行查询,需要扫描所有分片后在 mongos 聚合结果,比较消耗性能,不推荐使用。

    • 线上环境务必设置 balancer 窗口,避免 balance 对业务造成影响
      balance 过程会明显对数据库造成较大的压力,建议放在业务低峰期进行。

    建议类

    • 建议使用区分度较大的字段作为片键,最理想的情况是使用唯一主键作为片键
      假设我们有一个存储人口信息的集合,其使用性别作为片键,这个片键认为区分度较低,因为集合中性别字段相同的数据理论上会有一半之多。
      如果片键区分度不大,可能导致大量的记录集中在某些片上,而这种不均衡也无法添加分片进行扩展。因此建议使用区分度较大的字段作为片键。

    • 如果使用 hash 分片,建议进行预分配,特别是表比较大且经常经常需要大量插入数据
      shardCollection() 命令默认每个分片只会创建2个 chunk,随着数据量的越来越大,MongoDB 需要不断的 balance 和 splitChunk,这将对数据库带来较大的负担。
      因此在对于大集合,建议提前进行预分片(shardCollection 命令指定 numInitialChunks 参数,每个分片最大支持8192个),特别是向大集合中批量导数据。

    不建议类

    • 没有按片建顺序扫描的强需求,不建议使用 range 分片,推荐 hash 分片
      range 分片容易引起不均衡和数据热点,而且因为无法预分片所以随着数据的写入 balance 不可避免,因此不建议使用,除非有特殊的按片键范围查询需求。

      注意:

      在 shardCollection 的时候,sh.shardCollection("records.people", { zipcode: 1 } ) 命令中1表示范围分片,sh.shardCollection("records.people", { zipcode: "hashed" } ) 命令中"hashed"表示 hash 分片。需注意不要用错。

    • 分片集群中不建议使用非分片表
      MongoDB 的分片集群如果未执行 shardCollection 命令,默认数据只存储在主分片上。大量未分片的表会造成分片和分片间的数据量不一致。集群长时间运行下去,可能会造成某些片数据量特别多甚至会打满磁盘,运维在这种情况下不得不使用 movePrimary 手动进行数据搬迁,从而增加了运维复杂度。

Development Specifications

Last updated: 2021-06-28 10:52:04

    Database Design Specifications

    Prohibited

    Do not create too many tables in a database
    In the WiredTiger engine, multiple files need to be created in each collection to store metadata, data, and indexes. Too many small files on the disk will compromise the performance. We recommend you keep the number of tables in one database below 100 and the number of tables in the entire database instance below 2,000.

    • We recommend you make database names begin with "db". A database name cannot contain more than 64 characters and special symbols other than "_". All letters in the name should be in lowercase.
    • We recommend you make collection names begin with "t_". A collection name cannot contain more than 120 characters and special symbols other than "_".

    Index Design Specifications

    Prohibited

    • Do not create an index without the background parameter for a database in the production environment
      In MongoDB 4.2 or below, the createIndex() command is in foreground mode by default, where index creation will block all operations on the database and cause business interruption. Therefore, if you need to run createIndex() for a business in the production environment, be sure to add the background parameter.

      Note:

      background must be placed in the options parameter of the createIndex() command, for example, db.test.createIndex({a: 1}, {unique:true, background: true}). Do not separate different parameters as follows: db.test.createIndex({a: 1}, {unique:true}, {background: true}).

    • Place the sort field in the index to avoid out-of-memory (OOM) events caused by a large amount of sorting work by the business in the memory

      • In MongoDB 4.2 or below, one SQL statement is allowed to use a maximum of 32 MB memory for sorting. If the limit is exceeded, the system will prompt that Sort operation used more than the maximum 33554432 bytes of RAM. In this case, you can run db.runCommand({ getParameter : 1, "internalQueryExecMaxBlockingSortBytes" : 1 } ) to adjust the sort memory size.
        However, it is prohibited to adjust the memory size for a business in the production environment, as this will increase the possibility of database OOM. We recommend you add the sort field to the index so as to implement the sorting feature through the index.
      • In MongoDB 4.4, although the disk sort option is provided to avoid large memory consumption by sorting, we still recommend you use index for sorting.
    • Do not create too many indexes in a table
      Every time a data entry is inserted into MongoDB, the index will be written. The more the indexes, the higher the overheads incurred by data writes. Therefore, abuse of indexes, such as creating an index for each field even when some fields will not be used for query, is forbidden. We recommend you keep the number of indexes in a table below 10.

    Recommended

    • Drop useless indexes periodically
      During a write operation, indexes will cause extra resource consumption. Therefore, the indexes should be as few as possible.
      For versions above MongoDB 4.4, we recommend you use hidden index to hide useless indexes first, confirm that the business is normal, and then drop them.

    • Drop single-column indexes if they are contained in compound indexes according to the left-prefix rule
      Extra indexes will cause performance waste during write operations.

    • Restrain from using operators such as $ne/$nin
      Like other databases (such as MySQL), NOT EQUAL and NOT IN operators cannot effectively use indexes, which thus should be avoided as much as possible.

    • Create indexes on fields that are highly distinctive
      If an index field has low distinction, a large number of rows will be scanned during a query, leading to a low query efficiency, which will have a high impact on the database load. Therefore, the field on which an index is created should have high distinction.

    Database Operation Specifications

    Prohibited

    • Do not use SQL statements whose execution plan has not been confirmed through explain() in the production environment
      Before using an SQL statement in the production environment, you need to run explain() to confirm whether its execution plan meets the expectation; otherwise, a failure may occur.

    • Do not disable authentication in the production environment, especially when the database is accessible over the public network
      If authentication is disabled, the database will be exposed to everyone, especially when its server is accessible over the public network. We recommend you enable authentication in the production environment. If you have to disable it, be sure to set a firewall rule or IP allowlist.

    • Do not store business data in admin and local databases
      If the admin database is read/written, a database lock will be added, which will compromise the performance. Data in the local database will be stored locally only but not replicated to the secondary nodes, and if primary-secondary switch occurs, data will be lost. Therefore, do not use the admin and local databases.

    • Do not create a database with the same name as the one dropped through the db.dropDatabase() command

      • In MongoDB 4.0 or below, the official document stipulates that if a database is dropped and then a database with the same name is created, all mongos nodes should be restarted or run the flushRouterConfig command before the business reads/writes data.
      • In MongoDB 4.2 or above, all mongos and mongod nodes should be restarted or run the flushRouterConfig command.
        Therefore, do not directly run the db.dropDatabase() command in the business code and then create a database with the same name. When performing this operation, you must strictly follow the instructions in the official document.
    • Do not abuse IN and OR operators in high-concurrency and high-performance scenarios
      IN and OR conditional clauses need to be converted to multiple queries at the database's underlying layer. Too many IN and OR operators in high-concurrency and high-performance scenarios will severely increase the request response latency and database load.

    • Do not execute complicated computing operations in the database in high-concurrency and high-performance scenarios
      MongoDB provides powerful computing capabilities (such as MapReduce), and these features are very developer-friendly and greatly simplify the business logic. However, these operations inevitably require resources. If complicated operations are performed at the database layer in high-concurrency scenarios, the database will experience great pressure, and if it fails, the entire system will also fail.
      We recommend you keep database operations simple, perform complicated computation on servers, and add a cache as appropriate on the database frontend in high-concurrency and high-performance scenarios.

    • Do not directly remove data in batches for businesses in the production environment
      When the remove command is executed in the database, \_id values of the entries that meet the removal conditions will be queried first, and the entries will be removed by \_id one by one and recorded in the oplog (an oplog entry will be generated for each removed data entry).
      If there are a large number of data entries that meet the removal conditions, the database will experience high pressure, and the primary-secondary delay will surge suddenly.
      For businesses in the production environment, we recommend you drop the collection directly, use a script to remove the entries one by one and control the removal speed, or use TTL indexes as much as possible.

    • Do not customize the \_id field in businesses
      \_id is the default primary key of MongoDB, which is an auto-incrementing sequence by default. If you customize \_id, but your business cannot ensure that \_id is auto-incrementing, every time data is inserted, the \_id index will inevitably need to adjust the B-tree index, which will bring additional load to the database.

    • Do not configure only one single IP in the connection string in scenarios where a replica set is directly connected to a mongod node. Do not connect a sharded cluster to only one single mongos address (unless mongos is deployed together with the application server)
      For businesses in the production environment, if only the primary node of a replica set is connected, once HA occurs in the database, write interruption will occur. If only one single mongos node is connected, the business will be interrupted if the node fails.

    • Do not set write concern to j:false for businesses in the production environment
      Write concern is set to j:true by default, which indicates that the result will be returned to the client after the journal log is written by the server. Generally, do not set j:false; otherwise, data may be lost if the process is restarted after a sudden failure.

    • Do not use UPDATE statements without conditions
      We recommend you keep the default value (false) of multi to avoid updating the data of the full table due to program bugs (for example, some exceptions cause the query parameter to pass in {}).

    • Do not read an entire array, update it, and write it back when you only need to update certain elements in it
      We recommend you use arrayFileters to modify elements on an as-needed basis.

    Recommended

    • Use local read/write instead of global read/write
      Use the $projection operator as much as possible in query statements to project the required fields. If you want to modify a certain field in the update command, we recommend you use $set. Do not read the entire document and then write it back entirely after modifying it.

    • Restrain from using the db.collection.renameCollection() command in the production environment
      renameCollection() will block all database operations in MongoDB 4.0 and below and block operations on the current and target tables in MongoDB 4.2 and above. Moreover, during execution of renameCollection(), problems such as cursor failure, changeStream failure, and failure of mongodump with the --oplog command may occur. Do not directly perform this operation during peak hours in the production environment.

    • Configure the {w: "majority"} parameter for write concern for core businesses
      By default, the configuration of write concern of general drivers is {w:1}, that is, a request will be considered successful after its write to the primary node is completed. If the server fails suddenly and the written data has not been replicated to the secondary nodes, this configuration will cause data loss.
      Therefore, for core businesses in the production environment, we recommend you configure {w: "majority"}, which specifies that the result will be returned to the client after the data is synced to most nodes. However, the reliability and performance cannot be balanced. If the {w: "majority"} configuration is used, the request delay will increase accordingly.

    • Do not use a large number of multi-document transactions in high-performance scenarios unless necessary
      In MongoDB 4.0 or above, the multi-document transaction feature is provided. However, it is only a supplement to the MongoDB database capabilities. In high-concurrency and high-performance scenarios, comprehensive stress testing must be performed before many multi-document transactions are used.
      Generally, before a multi-document transaction is committed, it will keep a snapshot in the memory, which may consume a large amount of cache and compromise the performance.

    • Restrain from using non-persistent connections
      The authentication logic of MongoDB is a very complicated computing process, and MongoDB creates a thread for each connection by default. A high number of non-persistent connections will bring high pressure to the database, especially for replica set cluster without mongos. We recommend you use persistent connections. For more information, please see the Connection Pool parameter in the MongoDB URL.

    Sharded Cluster Design Specifications

    Prohibited

    • Do not use ranged sharding if the \_id field is used as the shard key
      id is an ascending sequence that increases as the data volume increases. If \_id is used as the shard key and ranged sharding is used, the cluster will be constantly balanced when data is inserted.

    • Do not directly connect a sharded cluster to the mongod node to write data
      A sharded cluster should write data through mongos. Data directly written through mongod has no route information and cannot be accessed.

    • Do not keep the balancer and autoSplit configuration disabled for a prolonged time in the production environment
      If the balancer is disabled, the data volume will become uneven across different shards. If autoSplit is disabled, jumbo chunks may be generated.

    • Restrain from using queries without a shard key in a sharded table
      If you query a sharded table without using a shard key, all shards will be scanned, and the results will be aggregated on mongos, which has high performance overheads and is therefore not recommended.

    • Be sure to set a balancer window in the production environment to avoid the impact of balancing on the businesses
      Balancing will cause high pressure on the database. We recommend you balance the database during off-peak hours.

    Recommended

    • Use a field that is highly distinctive as the shard key. Ideally, use the unique primary key as the shard key
      Suppose you have a collection for storing population information that uses gender as the shard key. This shard key is considered as poorly distinctive, as data entries with the same gender field value will account for half of all data in the collection theoretically.
      If the shard key has low distinction, a large number of data entries may concentrate on certain shards, and such imbalance cannot be solved by adding more shards. Therefore, we recommend you use a highly distinctive field as the shard key.

    • Perform presharding if you want to use hashed sharding, especially for large tables where large amounts of data are frequently inserted
      Only two chunks are created for each shard by the shardCollection() command by default. As the data volume grows, MongoDB needs to constantly balance and run splitChunk, which will bring high pressure to the database.
      Therefore, we recommend you perform presharding (by running the shardCollection command and specifying the numInitialChunks parameter), especially before batch data import into large collections. Each shard supports up to 8,192 chunks.

    Not recommended

    • Restrain from using ranged sharding if you have no strong requirements for scanning in the shard key order. Use hashed sharding instead
      Ranged sharding tends to cause imbalance and hotspot data. In addition, as presharding is not supported, balancing is inevitable as more data is written. Therefore, we recommend you not use ranged sharding, unless you have special requirements for queries based on the shard key range.

      Note:

      During the shardCollection operation, 1 in sh.shardCollection("records.people", { zipcode: 1 } ) indicates ranged sharding, and hashed in sh.shardCollection("records.people", { zipcode: "hashed" } ) indicates hashed sharding. Be careful not to use them incorrectly.

    • Restrain from using non-sharded tables in a sharded cluster
      If the shardCollection command is not executed on a MongoDB sharded cluster, the data will be stored only in the primary shard by default. A large number of non-sharded tables will cause different data volumes in different shards. If the cluster runs for a long time, some shards may have a high data volume, or the disk may become full. In this case, you have to use movePrimary to manually migrate the data, which makes OPS more complicated.