Setting Collaborator Permissions

Last updated: 2019-11-28 18:02:42

    Introduction

    This document describes how to grant permissions to collaborators and how to disassociate them from policies. Collaborators can manage the resources under the root account to the extent allowed by the configured permissions.

    Directions

    Associating a Collaborator with Policies

    Associating Directly

    You can directly associate a policy with a user to give them the permissions included in the policy.

    1. Log in to the CAM console and go to User List. Locate the collaborator you want to grant permissions to, and click Authorize in the Operation column on the right.
    2. Select the policies to be associated and click OK. You can select more than one.

    Associating with Policies by Adding to Groups

    You can add the user to a user group to automatically grant the user permissions included in the policies that are associated with the user group. The policy types obtained by the user through this method depend on the policies associated with the user group. If you need to disassociate the user with a policy that is associated with the user group, you must remove the user from the user group.

    1. Log in to the CAM console and go to User List. Locate the collaborator you want to grant permissions to, and click More > Add to Group in the operation column on the right.
    2. Select the user group to which you want to add the collaborator to and click OK. You can select more than one user group.

    Disassociating a Collaborator from Policies

    Directly disassociating a Collaborator from Policies

    You can directly disassociate a user from policies to remove the permissions granted to the user.

    1. Log in to the CAM console and go to User List. Locate the collaborator you want to remove permissions from, and click the user name of the collaborator to enter the collaborator’s details page.
    2. Go to Permissions and locate the policy. Click Disassociate in the operation column on the right.
    3. Click Confirm to complete the disassociation. This user will no longer have the permissions described in this policy.

    Removing a Collaborator from a Group

    You can remove a collaborator from a group to automatically disassociate the user from the permissions associated with this group.

    1. Log in to the CAM console and go to User List. Locate the collaborator you want to remove the permissions from, and click the user name of the collaborator to enter the collaborator’s details page.
    2. Click Groups and locate the user group. Click Remove from Group in the operation column on the right.
    3. Click OK to remove the collaborator from the user group and disassociate the user from group-associated policies. After the collaborator has been removed, the user will no longer have the permissions associated with the user group.

    Was this page helpful?

    Was this page helpful?

    • Not at all
    • Not very helpful
    • Somewhat helpful
    • Very helpful
    • Extremely helpful
    Send Feedback
    Help