内存分配问题

最后更新时间:2019-11-22 15:47:39

    云数据库 MySQL 的内存是重要的性能参数,常出现由异常 SQL 请求以及待优化的数据库导致的内存利用率升高的情况,严重时还会出现由于 OOM 导致实例发生 HA 切换,影响业务的稳定及可用性。

    MySQL 的内存大体可以分为 global 级的共享内存和 session 级的私有内存两部分,共享内存是实例创建时即分配的内存空间,并且是所有连接共享的。私有内存用于每个连接到 MySQL 服务器时才分配各自的缓存,一些特殊的 SQL 或字段类型会导致单个线程可能分配多次缓存,因此当出现 OOM 异常,都是由各个连接私有内存造成的。下面将详细介绍各部分的构成。

    共享内存

    执行以下命令,查询示例的共享内存分配情况:

    show variables where variable_name in ('innodb_buffer_pool_size','innodb_log_buffer_size','innodb_additional_mem_pool_size','key_buffer_size','query_cache_size');

    说明:

    5.7版本不支持 innodb_additional_mem_pool_size。

    以下参数是内存规格为1000MB实例的共享内存分配情况的查询结果(以下为测试实例配置):
    1. +---------------------------------+-----------+
    2. | Variable_name | Value |
    3. +---------------------------------+-----------+
    4. | innodb_additional_mem_pool_size | 8388608 |
    5. | innodb_buffer_pool_size | 524288000 |
    6. | innodb_log_buffer_size | 67108864 |
    7. | key_buffer_size | 16777216 |
    9. | query_cache_size | 0 |
    10. +---------------------------------+-----------+
    11. 5 rows in set (0.01 sec)

    参数说明

    • innodb_buffer_pool_size
      该部分缓存是 Innodb 引擎最重要的缓存区域,是通过内存来弥补物理数据文件的重要手段,在云数据库 MySQL 上会采用实例规格配置的50% - 80%作为该部分大小(上图为1000MB * 0.5 = 500MB)。其中主要包含数据页、索引页、undo 页、insert buffer、自适应哈希索引、锁信息以及数据字典等信息。在进行 SQL 读和写的操作时,首先并不是对物理数据文件操作,而是先对 buffer_pool 进行操作,再通过 checkpoint 等机制写回数据文件。该空间的优点是可以提升数据库的性能、加快 SQL 运行速度,缺点是故障恢复速度较慢。

    • innodb_log_buffer_size
      该部分主要存放 redo log 的信息,在云数据库 MySQL 上会设置64MB的大小。InnoDB 会首先将 redo log 写在这里,然后按照一定频率将其刷新回重做日志文件中。该空间不需要太大,因为一般情况下该部分缓存会以较快频率刷新至 redo log(Master Thread 会每秒刷新、事务提交时会刷新、其空间少于1/2时同样会刷新)。

    • innodb_additional_mem_pool_size
      该部分主要存放 InnoDB 内的一些数据结构,在云数据库 MySQL 中统一设置为8MB。通常是在 buffer_pool 中申请内存的时候还需要在额外内存中申请空间存储该对象的结构信息。该大小主要与表数量有关,表数量越大需要更大的空间。

    • key_buffer_size
      该部分是 MyISAM 表的重要缓存区域,所有实例统一为16M。该部分主要存放 MyISAM 表的键。MyISAM 表不同于 InnoDB 表,其缓存的索引缓存是放在 key_buffer 中的,而数据缓存则存储于操作系统的内存中。云数据库 MySQL 的系统是 MyISAM 引擎的,因此需给予该部分一定量的空间的。

    • query_cache_size
      该部分是对查询结果做缓存,以减少解析 SQL 和执行 SQL 的开销,在云数据库 MySQL 上关闭了该部分的缓存。主要适合于读多写少的应用场景,因为它是按照 SQL 语句的 hash 值进行缓存的,当表数据发生变化后即失效。

    私有内存

    执行以下命令,查询示例的 session 私有内存分配情况:

    show variables where variable_name in ('read_buffer_size','read_rnd_buffer_size','sort_buffer_size','join_buffer_size','binlog_cache_size','tmp_table_size');

    查询结果如下(以下为测试实例配置):
    1. +----------------------+-----------+
    2. | Variable_name | Value |
    3. +----------------------+-----------+
    4. | binlog_cache_size | 32768 |
    5. | join_buffer_size | 262144 |
    6. | read_buffer_size | 262144 |
    7. | read_rnd_buffer_size | 524288 |
    8. | sort_buffer_size | 524288 |
    9. | tmp_table_size | 209715200 |
    10. +----------------------+-----------+
    11. 6 rows in set (0.00 sec)

    参数说明:

    • read_buffer_size
      分别存放了对顺序扫描的缓存,当 thread 进行顺序扫描数据时会首先扫描该 buffer 空间以避免更多的物理读。

    • read_rnd_buffer_size
      分别存放了对随机扫描的缓存,当 thread 进行随机扫描数据时会首先扫描该 buffer 空间以避免更多的物理读。

    • sort_buffer_size
      需要执行 order by 和 group by 的 SQL 都会分配 sort_buffer,用于存储排序的中间结果。在排序过程中,若存储量大于 sort_buffer_size,则会在磁盘生成临时表以完成操作。

    • join_buffer_size
      MySQL 仅支持 nest loop 的 join 算法,处理逻辑是驱动表的一行和非驱动表联合查找,这时就可以将非驱动表放入 join_buffer,不需要访问拥有并发保护机制的 buffer_pool。

    • binlog_cache_size
      该区域用来缓存该 thread 的 binlog 日志,在一个事务还没有 commit 之前会先将其日志存储于 binlog_cache 中,等到事务 commit 后会将其 binlog 刷回磁盘上的 binlog 文件以持久化。

    • tmp_table_size
      不同于上面各个 session 级的 buffer,这个参数可以在控制台上修改。该参数是指用户内存临时表的大小,如果该 thread 创建的临时表超过它设置的大小会把临时表转换为磁盘上的一张 MyISAM 临时表。

Memory Allocation

Last updated: 2019-11-22 15:47:17

PDF

Memory is an important performance parameter for TencentDB for MySQL. It is common to see the memory utilization increase due to the presence of exceptional SQL statements and lack of database optimization. In severe cases, OOM can even occur and cause master/slave switchover, which compromises business stability and availability.

In MySQL, memory can be roughly divided into two parts: globally shared memory and session-level private memory. Shared memory is allocated upon the creation of an instance and shared by all connections. Private memory is used to allocate cache upon connection to the MySQL server. In some special SQL statements or field types, cache may be allocated to a single thread repeatedly. Therefore, all OOM exceptions are caused by the private memory of each connection. The composition of each part is as detailed below:

Shared Memory

Run the following command to query how the shared memory in the sample is allocated:

show variables where variable_name in ('innodb_buffer_pool_size','innodb_log_buffer_size','innodb_additional_mem_pool_size','key_buffer_size','query_cache_size');

innodb_additional_mem_pool_size is not supported in v5.7.

The following parameters are the query results of how the shared memory is allocated in an instance with 1,000 MB memory (below is the configuration of the test instance):
1. +---------------------------------+-----------+
2. | Variable_name | Value |
3. +---------------------------------+-----------+
4. | innodb_additional_mem_pool_size | 8388608 |
5. | innodb_buffer_pool_size | 524288000 |
6. | innodb_log_buffer_size | 67108864 |
7. | key_buffer_size | 16777216 |
9. | query_cache_size | 0 |
10. +---------------------------------+-----------+
11. 5 rows in set (0.01 sec)

Parameter description:

  • innodb_buffer_pool_size
    It is the most important buffer area in InnoDB and also a major means to compensate physical data files through memory. For TencentDB for MySQL, it usually takes up 50-80% memory of an instance (1,000 MB*0.5=500 MB as shown in the above sample). This area mainly includes information such as data pages, index pages, undo pages, insert buffers, adaptive hash indexes, lock information, and data dictionaries. In SQL read/write operations, you should first manipulate buffer_pool rather than physical data files and then write back to data files through checkpoint or other mechanisms. This space can help improve database performance and accelerate SQL operations, but it may slow down failover.

  • innodb_log_buffer_size
    It is mainly used to store redo logs and takes up 64 MB in TencentDB for MySQL. InnoDB will first write redo logs here and refresh them back to redo log files at a certain frequency. This space doesn't need to be large, because the buffer there is usually refreshed to redo logs at a relatively high frequency. Specifically, it will be refreshed for master thread (once every second), upon transactions committing, and when its available space is less than 1/2.

  • innodb_additional_mem_pool_size
    It is mainly used to store some data structures within InnoDB and is uniformly set to 8 MB in TencentDB for MySQL. Generally, when applying for memory in buffer_pool, you also need to apply for space to store the object's structural information in additional memory. The size of this part is primarily dependent on the number of tables. The more tables, the larger the space should be.

  • key_buffer_size
    It is an important buffer area of MyISAM tables and mainly used to store MyISAM table keys. It is uniformly set to 16 MB for all instances. Unlike InnoDB tables, MyISAM tables store index cache in key_buffer and data cache in the operating system memory. As TencentDB for MySQL uses MyISAM, this part should be allocated with a certain amount of space.

  • query_cache_size
    It is used to cache query results to reduce the overhead of SQL parsing and execution. The caching feature of this part is disabled in TencentDB for MySQL. It is mainly suitable for application scenarios where there are more reads than writes, because it caches results based on the hash values of SQL statements and becomes invalid once table data changes.

Private Memory

Run the following command to query how the session private memory in the sample is allocated:

show variables where variable_name in ('read_buffer_size','read_rnd_buffer_size','sort_buffer_size','join_buffer_size','binlog_cache_size','tmp_table_size');

The query result is displayed as follows (below is the configuration of the test instance):
1. +----------------------+-----------+
2. | Variable_name | Value |
3. +----------------------+-----------+
4. | binlog_cache_size | 32768 |
5. | join_buffer_size | 262144 |
6. | read_buffer_size | 262144 |
7. | read_rnd_buffer_size | 524288 |
8. | sort_buffer_size | 524288 |
9. | tmp_table_size | 209715200 |
10. +----------------------+-----------+
11. 6 rows in set (0.00 sec)

Parameter description:

  • read_buffer_size
    It stores the cache of sequential scans separately. When a thread scans data sequentially, it will first scan the buffer space to avoid causing more physical reads.

  • read_rnd_buffer_size
    It stores the cache of random scans separately. When a thread scans data randomly, it will first scan the buffer space to avoid causing more physical reads.

  • sort_buffer_size
    All the SQL statements that need to execute ORDER BY and GROUP BY will be allocated with sort_buffer to store the immediate results of the sorting operations. During sorting, if the storage size exceeds sort_buffer_size, a temporary table will be generated on the disk to complete the operation.

  • join_buffer_size
    MySQL only supports the nested-loop join (NLJ) algorithm. The processing logic is to jointly search in one row of the driving table and the non-driving table, where the latter can be placed in join_buffer without having to access buffer_pool that has a concurrence protection mechanism.

  • binlog_cache_size
    It is used to cache the thread's binlogs. Before a transaction is committed, its log will be stored in binlog_cache. After the transaction is committed, its binlog will be refreshed back to the binlog file on the disk for persistent storage.

  • tmp_table_size
    Different from the above session-level buffer, this parameter can be modified in the console. It refers to the size of a temporary in-memory table. If the temporary table created by the thread exceeds the specified size, it will be converted to a MyISAM temporary table on the disk.