tencent cloud

文档反馈

使用 cert-manager 签发免费证书

最后更新时间:2022-04-21 10:33:59

    概述

    随着 HTTPS 不断普及,大多数网站开始由 HTTP 升级到 HTTPS。使用 HTTPS 需要向权威机构申请证书,并且需要付出一定的成本,如果需求数量多,则开支也相对增加。cert-manager 是 Kubernetes 上的全能证书管理工具,支持利用 cert-manager 基于 ACME 协议与 Let's Encrypt 签发免费证书并为证书自动续期,实现永久免费使用证书。

    操作原理

    cert-manager 工作原理

    cert-manager 部署到 Kubernetes 集群后会查阅其所支持的自定义资源 CRD,可通过创建 CRD 资源来指示 cert-manager 签发证书并为证书自动续期。如下图所示:

    • Issuer/ClusterIssuer:用于指示 cert-manager 签发证书的方式,本文主要讲解签发免费证书的 ACME 方式。
      说明:

      Issuer 与 ClusterIssuer 之间的区别是:Issuer 只能用来签发自身所在 namespace 下的证书,ClusterIssuer 可以签发任意 namespace 下的证书。

    • Certificate:用于向 cert-manager 传递域名证书的信息、签发证书所需要的配置,以及对 Issuer/ClusterIssuer 的引用。

    免费证书签发原理

    Let’s Encrypt 利用 ACME 协议校验域名的归属,校验成功后可以自动颁发免费证书。免费证书有效期只有90天,需在到期前再校验一次实现续期。使用 cert-manager 可以自动续期,即实现永久使用免费证书。校验域名归属的两种方式分别是 HTTP-01DNS-01,校验原理详情可参见 Let's Encrypt 的运作方式

    HTTP-01 的校验原理是给域名指向的 HTTP 服务增加一个临时 location。此方法仅适用于给使用 Ingress 暴露流量的服务颁发证书,并且不支持泛域名证书。
    例如,Let’s Encrypt 会发送 HTTP 请求到 http://<your_domain>/.well-known/acme-challenge/<token>YOUR_DOMAIN 是被校验的域名。TOKEN 是 ACME 协议客户端负责放置的文件,在此处 ACME 客户端即 cert-manager,通过修改或创建 Ingress 规则来增加临时校验路径并指向提供 TOKEN 的服务。Let’s Encrypt 会对比 TOKEN 是否符合预期,校验成功后就会颁发证书。

    ### 校验方式对比

    HTTP-01 校验方式的优点是配置简单通用,不同 DNS 提供商均可使用相同的配置方法。缺点是需要依赖 Ingress,若仅适用于服务支持 Ingress 暴露流量,不支持泛域名证书。
    DNS-01 校验方式的优点是不依赖 Ingress,并支持泛域名。缺点是不同 DNS 提供商的配置方式不同,DNS 提供商过多而 cert-manager 的 Issuer 不能全部支持。部分可以通过部署实现 cert-manager 的 Webhook 服务来扩展 Issuer 进行支持。例如 DNSPod 和 阿里 DNS,详情请参见 Webhook 列表
    本文向您推荐 DNS-01 方式,其限制较少,功能较全。

    操作步骤

    安装 cert-manager

    通常使用 yaml 方式一键安装 cert-manager 到集群,可参考官网文档 Installing with regular manifests
    cert-manager 官方使用的镜像在 quay.io 进行拉取。也可以执行以下命令,使用同步到国内 CCR 的镜像一键安装:

    注意:

    使用这种方式要求集群版本不得低于1.16。

    kubectl apply --validate=false -f https://raw.githubusercontent.com/TencentCloudContainerTeam/manifest/master/cert-manager/cert-manager.yaml
    

    配置 DNS

    登录 DNS 提供商后台,配置域名的 DNS A 记录,指向所需要证书的后端服务对外暴露的 IP 地址。以 cloudflare 为例,如下图所示:

    HTTP-01 校验方式签发证书

    若使用 HTTP-01 的校验方式,则需要用到 Ingress 来配合校验。cert-manager 会通过自动修改 Ingress 规则或自动新增 Ingress 来实现对外暴露校验所需的临时 HTTP 路径。为 Issuer 配置 HTTP-01 校验时,如果指定 Ingress 的 name,表示会自动修改指定 Ingress 的规则来暴露校验所需的临时 HTTP 路径,如果指定 class,则表示会自动新增 Ingress,可参考以下 示例

    TKE 自带的 Ingress 中,每个 Ingress 资源都会对应一个负载均衡 CLB,如果使用 TKE 自带的 Ingress 暴露服务,并且使用 HTTP-01 方式校验,那么只能使用自动修改 Ingress 的方式,不能自动新增 Ingress。自动新增的 Ingress 会自动创建其他 CLB,使对外的 IP 地址与后端服务的 Ingress 不一致,Let's Encrypt 校验时将无法从服务的 Ingress 找到校验所需的临时路径,从而导致校验失败,无法签发证书。如果使用自建 Ingress,例如 在 TKE 上部署 Nginx Ingress,同一个 Ingress class 的 Ingress 共享同一个 CLB,则支持使用自动新增 Ingress 的方式。

    示例

    如果服务使用 TKE 自带的 Ingress 暴露服务,则不适合用 cert-manager 签发管理免费证书,证书从 证书管理 中被引用,不在 Kubernetes 中管理。
    假设是 在 TKE 上部署 Nginx Ingress,且后端服务的 Ingress 是 prod/web,可参考以下代码示例创建 Issuer:

    apiVersion: cert-manager.io/v1
    kind: Issuer
    metadata:
     name: letsencrypt-http01
     namespace: prod
    spec:
     acme:
       server: https://acme-v02.api.letsencrypt.org/directory
       privateKeySecretRef:
         name: letsencrypt-http01-account-key
       solvers:
       - http01:
          ingress:
            name: web # 指定被自动修改的 Ingress 名称
    

    使用 Issuer 签发证书,cert-manager 会自动创建 Ingress 资源,并自动修改 Ingress 的资源 prod/web,以暴露校验所需的临时路径。参考以下代码示例,自动新增 Ingress:

    apiVersion: cert-manager.io/v1
    kind: Issuer
    metadata:
     name: letsencrypt-http01
     namespace: prod
    spec:
     acme:
       server: https://acme-v02.api.letsencrypt.org/directory
       privateKeySecretRef:
         name: letsencrypt-http01-account-key
       solvers:
       - http01:
          ingress:
            class: nginx # 指定自动创建的 Ingress 的 ingress class
    

    成功创建 Issuer 后,参考以下代码示例,创建 Certificate 并引用 Issuer 进行签发:

    apiVersion: cert-manager.io/v1
    kind: Certificate
    metadata:
     name: test-mydomain-com
     namespace: prod
    spec:
     dnsNames:
     - test.mydomain.com # 要签发证书的域名
     issuerRef:
       kind: Issuer
       name: letsencrypt-http01 # 引用 Issuer,指示采用 http01 方式进行校验
     secretName: test-mydomain-com-tls # 最终签发出来的证书会保存在这个 Secret 里面
    

    DNS-01 校验方式签发证书

    若使用 DNS-01 的校验方式,则需要选择 DNS 提供商。cert-manager 内置 DNS 提供商的支持,详细列表和用法请参见 Supported DNS01 providers。若需要使用列表外的 DNS 提供商,可参考以下两种方案:

    在 DNS 提供商后台设置 custom nameserver,指向例如 cloudflare 此类可管理其它 DNS 提供商域名的 nameserver 地址,具体地址可登录 cloudflare 后台查看。如下图所示:

    namecheap 可以设置 custom nameserver,如下图所示:

    最后配置 Issuer 指定 DNS-01 验证时,添加 cloudflare 的信息即可。

    获取和使用证书

    创建 Certificate 后,即可通过 kubectl 查看证书是否签发成功。

    $ kubectl get certificate -n prod
    NAME                READY   SECRET                  AGE
    test-mydomain-com   True    test-mydomain-com-tls   1m
    
    • READYFalse:则表示签发失败,可以通过 describe 命令查看 event 来排查失败原因。

      $ kubectl describe certificate test-mydomain-com -n prod
      
    • READYTrue:则表示签发成功,证书将保存在所指定的 Secret 中。例如,default/test-mydomain-com-tls。可以通过 kubectl 查看,其中 tls.crt 是证书,tls.key 是密钥。

      $ kubectl get secret test-mydomain-com-tls -n default
      ...
      data:
      tls.crt: <cert>
      tls.key: <private key>
      

    您可以将其挂载到需要证书的应用中,或者直接在自建的 Ingress 中引用 secret。可参考以下示例:

    apiVersion: networking.k8s.io/v1beta1
    kind: Ingress
    metadata:
     name: test-ingress
     annotations:
       kubernetes.io/Ingress.class: nginx
    spec:
     rules:
     - host: test.mydomain.com
       http:
         paths:
         - path: /web
           backend:
             serviceName: web
             servicePort: 80
     tls:
       hosts:
       - test.mydomain.com
       secretName: test-mydomain-com-tls
    

    相关文档

    联系我们

    联系我们,为您的业务提供专属服务。

    技术支持

    如果你想寻求进一步的帮助,通过工单与我们进行联络。我们提供7x24的工单服务。

    7x24 电话支持

tencent cloud

Feedback

Using cert-manager to Issue Free Certificates

Last updated: 2022-04-21 10:27:46

    Overview

    As HTTPS becomes increasingly popular, most websites have begun to upgrade from HTTP to HTTPS. To use HTTPS, you need to apply for a certificate from an authority and pay a certain cost. The more certificates you apply for, the higher the cost will be. cert-manager is a powerful certificate management tool for Kubernetes. You can use cert-manager based on the ACME protocol and Let's Encrypt to issue free certificates and have certificates automatically renewed. In this way, you can use certificates permanently for free.

    Principles

    How cert-manager works

    After being deployed to a Kubernetes cluster, cert-manager queries custom CRD resources that it supports. You can create CRD resources to instruct cert-manager to issue certificates and automatically renew certificates, as shown in the figure below:

    • Issuer/ClusterIssuer: indicates the method used by cert-manager to issue certificates. This document mainly describes the ACME method for issuing free certificates.

      Note:

      Issuer differs from ClusterIssuer in that Issuer can only be used to issue certificates under your own namespace, whereas ClusterIssuer can be used to issue certificates under any namespace.

    • Certificate: is used to pass the domain name certificate information, the configuration required for issuing a certificate, and Issuer/ClusterIssuer references to cert-manager.

    Issuing a free certificate

    Let’s Encrypt uses the ACME protocol to verify the ownership of a domain name. After successful verification, a free certificate is automatically issued. The free certificate is valid for only 90 days, so verification needs to be performed again to renew the certificate before the certificate expires. cert-manager supports automatic renewal of certificates, which allows you to use certificates permanently for free. You can verify the ownership of a certificate by using two methods: HTTP-01 and DNS-01. For more information on the verification process, see How It Works.

    HTTP-01 verification adds a temporary location for the HTTP service to which a domain name is directed. This method is only applicable to issuing a certificate for services that use open ingress traffic and does not support wildcard certificates.
    For example, Let’s Encrypt sends an HTTP request to http://<your_domain>/.well-known/acme-challenge/<token>. YOUR_DOMAIN indicates the domain name to be verified, and TOKEN indicates a file placed by the ACME client. In this case, the ACME client is cert-manager. You can modify or create ingress rules to add temporary verification paths and direct them to the service that provides TOKEN. Let’s Encrypt will then verify whether TOKEN meets the expectation. If the verification succeeds, a certificate is issued.

    ### Verification method comparison

    The HTTP-01 methods features simple configuration and extensive applicability. Different DNS providers can use the same configuration method. The disadvantages of this method are that it relies on ingress resources, is applicable only to services that support open ingress traffic, and does not support wildcard certificates.
    The advantages of DNS-01 are that it does not rely on ingress resources and supports wildcard domain names. Its disadvantages are that different DNS providers have different configuration methods, and cert-manager Issuer does not support too many different DNS providers. However, you can deploy the cert-manager-enabled webhook service to extend Issuer in order to support more DNS providers, such as DNSPod and Alibaba DNS. For more information on supported providers, see the webhook list.
    This document uses the recommended DNS-01 method, which offers comprehensive features with few restrictions.

    Directions

    Installing cert-manager

    Usually, you can use YAML to install cert-manager in your cluster with one click. For more information, see this document on the official website: Installing with regular manifests.
    The official image used by cert-manager can be pulled from quay.io. Alternatively, you can run the following command to use the image synchronized to the mainland China CCR for one-click installation:

    Note:

    This method requires that the cluster version is 1.16 or later.

    kubectl apply --validate=false -f https://raw.githubusercontent.com/TencentCloudContainerTeam/manifest/master/cert-manager/cert-manager.yaml
    

    Configuring DNS

    Log in to a DNS provider backend system, configure the DNS A record of the domain name, and direct it to the opened IP address of the real server that needs the certificate. To do this, see the figure below, where Cloudflare is used as an example.

    Issuing a certificate by using the HTTP-01 verification method

    HTTP-01 validation can be performed by using Ingress. Cert-manager will automatically modify the Ingress or add an Ingress to expose the temporary HTTP path needed for validation. When HTTP-01 validation is configured for Issuer, if the name of an Ingress is specified, the specified Ingress will be modified to expose the HTTP path needed for validation. If class is specified, an Ingress will be added automatically. You can refer to the following Example.

    Each ingress provided by TKE corresponds to a CLB. If you use an existing ingress provided by TKE to open services while using the HTTP-01 verification method, you can only adopt the automatic ingress modification mode, but not the automatic ingress addition mode. For automatically added ingresses, other CLBs will be automatically created, causing the opened IP address inconsistent with the ingress of the real server. In this case, Let's Encrypt fails to find the temporary path needed for verification in the service ingress, which results in verification failure and the failure to issue a certificate. If you use a user-created ingress, for example, by deploying Nginx Ingress on TKE, and ingresses in the same ingress class share the same CLB, the automatic ingress addition mode is supported.

    Example

    If you use an ingress provided by TKE to open a service, you cannot use cert-manager to issue and manage free certificates. This is because certificates are referenced in Certificate Management and are not managed in Kubernetes.
    If you deploy Nginx Ingress on TKE and the ingress of the real server is prod/web, you can create an Issuer by referring to the following sample code:

    apiVersion: cert-manager.io/v1
    kind: Issuer
    metadata:
     name: letsencrypt-http01
     namespace: prod
    spec:
     acme:
       server: https://acme-v02.api.letsencrypt.org/directory
       privateKeySecretRef:
         name: letsencrypt-http01-account-key
       solvers:
       - http01:
          ingress:
            name: web # Specifies the name of the ingress for automatic modification.
    

    When you use an Issuer to issue a certificate, cert-manager will automatically create an ingress and automatically modify prod/web of the ingress to open the temporary path needed for verification. See the following sample code for automatic ingress addition:

    apiVersion: cert-manager.io/v1
    kind: Issuer
    metadata:
     name: letsencrypt-http01
     namespace: prod
    spec:
     acme:
       server: https://acme-v02.api.letsencrypt.org/directory
       privateKeySecretRef:
         name: letsencrypt-http01-account-key
       solvers:
       - http01:
          ingress:
            class: nginx # Specifies the ingress class of the automatically created ingress.
    

    After successfully creating an Issuer, refer to the following sample code to create a certificate and reference the Issuer to issue the certificate:

    apiVersion: cert-manager.io/v1
    kind: Certificate
    metadata:
     name: test-mydomain-com
     namespace: prod
    spec:
     dnsNames:
     - test.mydomain.com # Indicates the domain name for issuing a certificate.
     issuerRef:
       kind: Issuer
       name: letsencrypt-http01 # References Issuer and indicates the HTTP-01 method is used for verification.
     secretName: test-mydomain-com-tls # The issued certificate will be saved in this Secret.
    

    Issuing a certificate by using the DNS-01 verification method

    If you choose to use the DNS-01 verification method, you must select a DNS provider. cert-manager provides built-in support for DNS providers. For the detailed list and usage, see Supported DNS01 providers. If you need to use a DNS provider other than those on the list, refer to the following two schemes:

    On the backend system of the DNS provider, configure a custom nameserver and direct it to the address of a nameserver that can manage other DNS providers’ domain names, such as Cloudflare. You can log in to the backend of Cloudflare to view the specific address, as shown in the figure below:

    You can configure a custom nameserver for namecheap, as shown in the figure below:

    Finally, when configuring the Issuer and specifying the DNS-01 verification method, add the Cloudflare information.

    Obtaining and using certificates

    After creating a certificate, you can run the kubectl command to check whether the certificate has been issued successfully.

    $ kubectl get certificate -n prod
    NAME                READY   SECRET                  AGE
    test-mydomain-com   True    test-mydomain-com-tls   1m
    
    • READY = False: indicates that the certificate failed to be issued. You can run the describe command to check the event and analyze the failure cause.

      $ kubectl describe certificate test-mydomain-com -n prod
      
    • READY = True: indicates that the certificate was issued successfully. In this case, the certificate will be stored in the specified Secret, for example, default/test-mydomain-com-tls. You can run kubectl to view the certificate, where tls.crt indicates the certificate, and tls.key indicates the key.

      $ kubectl get secret test-mydomain-com-tls -n default
      ...
      data:
      tls.crt: <cert>
      tls.key: <private key>
      

    You can mount the certificate to the app that needs it or directly reference the Secret in an ingress that you created. The following shows a sample YAML file:

    apiVersion: networking.k8s.io/v1beta1
    kind: Ingress
    metadata:
     name: test-ingress
     annotations:
       kubernetes.io/Ingress.class: nginx
    spec:
     rules:
     - host: test.mydomain.com
       http:
         paths:
         - path: /web
           backend:
             serviceName: web
             servicePort: 80
     tls:
       hosts:
       - test.mydomain.com
       secretName: test-mydomain-com-tls
    

    References

    Contact Us

    Contact our sales team or business advisors to help your business.

    Technical Support

    Open a ticket if you're looking for further assistance. Our Ticket is 7x24 avaliable.

    7x24 Phone Support