tencent cloud

文档反馈

在 TKE 上利用 HPA 实现业务的弹性伸缩

最后更新时间:2020-12-14 09:55:16

    概述

    Kubernetes Pod 水平自动扩缩(Horizontal Pod Autoscaler,以下简称 HPA)可以基于 CPU 利用率、内存利用率和其他自定义的度量指标自动扩缩 Pod 的副本数量,以使得工作负载服务的整体度量水平与用户所设定的目标值匹配。本文将介绍和使用腾讯云容器服务 TKE 的 HPA 功能实现 Pod 自动水平扩缩容。

    使用场景

    HPA 自动伸缩特性使容器服务具有非常灵活的自适应能力,能够在用户设定内快速扩容多个 Pod 副本来应对业务负载的急剧飙升,也可以在业务负载变小的情况下根据实际情况适当缩容来节省计算资源给其他的服务,整个过程自动化无须人为干预,适合服务波动较大、服务数量多且需要频繁扩缩容的业务场景,例如:电商服务、线上教育、金融服务等。

    原理概述

    Pod 水平自动扩缩特性由 Kubernetes API 资源和控制器实现。资源利用指标决定控制器的行为,控制器会周期性的根据 Pod 资源利用情况调整服务 Pod 的副本数量,以使得工作负载的度量水平与用户所设定的目标值匹配。其扩缩容流程如下图所示:

    注意:

    Pod 自动水平扩缩不适用于无法扩缩的对象,例如 DaemonSet 资源。

    hpa
    重点内容说明:

    • HPA Controller:控制 HPA 扩缩逻辑的控制组件。

    • Metrics Aggeregator:度量指标聚合器。通常情况下,控制器将从一系列的聚合 API(metrics.k8s.iocustom.metrics.k8s.ioexternal.metrics.k8s.io)中获取度量值。metrics.k8s.io API 通常由 Metrics 服务器提供,社区版可提供基本的 CPU、内存度量类型。相比于社区版,TKE 使用自定义 Metrics Server 采集可支持更广泛的 HPA 的度量指标触发类型,提供包括 CPU 、内存、硬盘、网络和 GPU 相关指标,了解更多详细内容请参见 TKE 自动伸缩指标说明

      说明:

      控制器也可从 Heapster 获取指标。但自 Kubernetes 1.11 版本起,从 Heapster 获取指标特性的方式已废弃。

    • HPA 计算目标副本数算法:TKE HPA 扩缩容算法请参见 工作原理,更多详细算法请参见 算法细节

    前提条件

    操作步骤

    部署测试工作负载

    以 Deployment 资源类型的工作负载为例,创建一个单副本数,服务类型为 Web 服务的 “test” 工作负载。在容器服务控制台创建Deployment 类型工作负载方法请参见 Deployment 管理
    本示例创建结果如下图所示:
    image-20201105173748658

    配置 HPA

    在容器服务控制台为测试工作负载绑定一个 HPA 配置,关于如何绑定配置 HPA 请参见 HPA 操作步骤,本文以配置当网络出带宽达到0.15Mbps(150Kbps)时触发扩容的策略为例。如下图所示:
    image-20201106155539282

    功能验证

    模拟扩容过程

    执行以下命令,在集群中启动一个临时 Pod 对配置的 HPA 功能进行测试(模拟客户端):

    kubectl run -it --image alpine hpa-test --restart=Never --rm /bin/sh

    在临时 Pod 中执行以下命令,模拟在短时间内用大量请求访问 "hpa-test" 服务使出口流量带宽增大:

    # hpa-test.default.svc.cluster.local 为服务在集群中的域名,当需要停止脚本时按 Ctrl+C 即可
    while true; do wget -q -O - hpa-test.default.svc.cluster.local; done   

    在测试 Pod 中执行模拟请求命令后,通过观察工作负载的 Pod 数量监控,发现在18:46分时工作负载扩容副本数量至3个,由此可推断出已经触发了 HPA 的扩容事件。如下图所示:
    image-20201106164540791
    再通过工作负载的网络出口带宽监控可以观察到在18:46时网络出口带宽增至大概427Kbps,已经超过 HPA 设定的网络出口带宽目标值,进一步证明此时触发 HPA 扩缩容算法,扩容了一个副本数来满足设定的目标值,故工作负载的副本数量变成了3个。如下图所示:

    注意:

    HPA 扩缩容算法 不只以公式计算维度去控制扩缩容逻辑,而会多维度去衡量是否需要扩容或缩容,所以在实际情况中可能和预期会稍有偏差,详情可参见 算法细节

    image-20201106165107310

    模拟缩容过程

    模拟缩容过程时,在18:49左右手动停止执行模拟请求的命令,从监控可以观察到此时网络出口带宽值下降到扩容前位置,按照 HPA 的逻辑,此时已经满足工作负载缩容的条件。如下图所示:
    image-20201106165205910
    但从下图工作负载的 Pod 数量监控可以看出,工作负载在18:55分时才触发了 HPA 的缩容,原因是触发 HPA 缩容后有默认5分钟容忍的时间算法,以防止度量指标短时间波动导致的频繁的扩缩容,详情请参见 冷却 / 延迟支持。从下图可以看出工作负载副本数在停止命令5分钟后按照 HPA 扩缩容算法 缩容到了最初设定的1个副本数。如下图所示:
    image-20201106164648921
    当 TKE 发生 HPA 扩缩容事件时,会在对应的 HPA 实例的事件列表展示。需要注意的是事件通知列表的时间分为 “首次出现时间” 和 “最后出现时间”,“首次出现时间” 表示相同事件第一次出现的时间,“最后出现时间” 为相同事件出现的最新时间,所以从下图事件列表 “最后出现时间” 字段可以看到本示例扩容事件时间点是18:46:01,缩容事件时间是18:54:40,时间点与工作负载监控看到的时间点相吻合。如下图所示:
    image-20201106164245358
    此外,工作负载事件列表也会记录 HPA 发生时工作负载的增删副本数事件,从下图可以看出工作负载扩缩容时间点与 HPA 事件列表的时间点也是吻合的,增加副本数时间点是18:46:01,减少副本数时间点是18:54:40。
    image-20201106164329173

    总结

    在本示例中主要演示了 TKE 的 HPA 功能,即使用 TKE 自定义的网络出口带宽度量类型作为工作负载 HPA 的扩缩容度量指标:

    • 当工作负载实际度量值超过 HPA 配置的度量目标值时,HPA 根据扩容算法计算出合适的副本数实现水平扩容,保证工作负载的度量指标满足预期及工作负载健康稳定运行。
    • 当实际度量值远低于 HPA 配置的度量目标值时,HPA 会在容忍时间后计算合适的副本数实现水平缩容,适当释放闲置资源,达到提升资源利用率的目的,并且整个过程在 HPA 和工作负载事件列表都会有相应的事件记录,使整个工作负载水平扩缩容全程可追溯。
    联系我们

    联系我们,为您的业务提供专属服务。

    技术支持

    如果你想寻求进一步的帮助,通过工单与我们进行联络。我们提供7x24的工单服务。

    7x24 电话支持

Utilizing HPA to Auto Scale Businesses on TKE

Last updated: 2020-12-14 09:57:14

    Overview

    Horizontal Pod Autoscaler (HPA) for Kubernetes pods can automatically adjust the number of pod replicas based on CPU usage, memory usage, and other custom metrics to match the overall level of workload services to the user-defined target value. This document introduces the HPA feature of TKE and describes how to use this feature to achieve automatic scaling of pods.

    Use Cases

    The HPA feature provides TKE with flexible self-adaptation capabilities, allowing it to quickly increase the number of pod replicas within the user-defined scope to cope with a sudden increase in service loads and then scale in when service loads decrease to save computing resources for other services. The entire process is automatic and requires no manual intervention. It’s suitable for service scenarios with large service fluctuations, a large number of services, and frequent scaling, such as e-commerce services, online education, and financial services.

    Principle Overview

    The HPA feature is implemented by Kubernetes API resources and the controller. Resources use metrics to determine the behavior of the controller, whereas the controller periodically adjusts the number of replicas of service pods based on pod resource usage. This matches the level of workloads to the user-defined target value. The following figure shows the scaling process:

    Note:

    The automatic horizontal scaling for pods does not apply to objects that cannot be scaled, such as DaemonSet resources.

    hpa
    Key content:

    • HPA Controller: the control component that controls the HPA scaling logic.

    • Metrics Aggregator: normally, the controller obtains metric values from a series of aggregation APIs (metrics.k8s.io, custom.metrics.k8s.io, and external.metrics.k8s.io). The metrics.k8s.io API is usually provided by the Metrics server. The community edition can provide the basic CPU and memory metric types. Compared with the community edition, the custom Metrics Server collection used by TKE supports a wider range of HPA metric trigger types, providing relevant metrics such as CPU, memory, disk, network, and GPU metrics. For more information, see TKE Auto-scaling Metrics.

      Note:

      The controller can also obtain metrics from Heapster. However, starting from Kubernetes 1.11, the controller can no longer obtain metrics from Heapster.

    • HPA Algorithm for Calculating the Target Number of Replicas: for the TKE HPA scaling algorithm, see How It Works. For more detailed algorithm information, see Algorithm Details.

    Prerequisites

    Directions

    Deploying test workloads

    Here, we use a Deployment-type workload as an example. Create an odd number of replicas, with the service type set to the "test" workload of the web service. For more information about how to create a Deployment-type workload on the TKE console, see Deployment Management.
    The following figure shows the creation result in this example:
    image-20201105173748658

    Configuring HPA

    On the TKE console, bind the test workload with an HPA configuration. For more information about how to bind an HPA configuration, see HPA Directions. As an example, this document describes the configuration of a policy under which scale-out is triggered when the network egress bandwidth reaches 0.15 Mbps (150 Kbps), as shown in the figure below:
    image-20201106155539282

    Feature verification

    Simulating the scale-out process

    Run the following command to launch a temporary pod in the cluster to test the configured HPA feature (simulated client):

    kubectl run -it --image alpine hpa-test --restart=Never --rm /bin/sh

    Run the following command in the temporary pod to simulate a situation where large numbers of requests accessing the "hpa-test" service in a short period cause the egress traffic bandwidth to increase:

    # hpa-test.default.svc.cluster.local is the domain name of the service in the cluster. To stop the script, press Ctrl+C.
    while true; do wget -q -O - hpa-test.default.svc.cluster.local; done   

    After running the request simulation command in the test pod, observe the monitored number of pods of the workload. You will see that the number of replicas for the workload increase to 3 at 18:46, which indicates that an HPA scale-out event was been triggered, as shown in the figure below:
    image-20201106164540791
    Then, through the monitoring of the network egress bandwidth of the workload, you can see that, at 16:21, the network egress bandwidth increased to about 424 Kbps, exceeding the target value of the network egress bandwidth set by HPA. This further indicates that the HPA Scaling Algorithm has been triggered to add a replica to meet the set target value. Therefore, the number of replicas of the workload has changed to 3, as shown in the figure below:

    Note:

    The HPA Scaling Algorithm does not just rely on formula calculation to control the scaling logic but takes multiple dimensions into consideration to decide whether scale-out or scale-in is needed. Therefore, the actual implementation may differ slightly from expectations. For more information, see Algorithm Details.

    image-20201106165107310

    Simulating the scale-in process

    When simulating the scale-in process, manually stop executing the request simulation command at about 18:49. Through monitoring, you can observe that the network egress bandwidth decreases to the level before scale-out. At this time, according to the HPA logic, the conditions for workload scale-in are met, as shown in the figure below:
    image-20201106165205910
    However, according to the monitoring of the number of workload pods shown in the figure below, the workload did not trigger HPA scale-in until 18:55. This is because, after HPA is triggered, there is a default 5-minute toleration time algorithm to prevent frequent scaling operations caused by metric fluctuations within a short period of time. For more information, see Cooling/Delay Support. As shown in the figure below, 5 minutes after the command was stopped, the number of workload replicas was decreased back to the initial setting of 1 replica according to the HPA Scaling Algorithm.
    image-20201106164648921
    When an HPA scaling event occurs in TKE, the event will be displayed in the event list of the corresponding HPA instance. Note that the time on the event notification list includes "First Occurrence Time" and "Last Occurrence Time". "First Occurrence Time" indicates the first time when the same event occurred, while "Last Occurrence Time" indicates the latest time when the same event occurred. Therefore, as you can see in the event list shown in the figure below, the "Last Occurrence Time" field displays 18:46:01 for the scale-out event in this example and 18:54:40 for the scale-in event. The points in time displayed here match those in the workload monitoring.
    image-20201106164245358
    In addition, the workload event list also records the events of adding/deleting replicas by workloads when HPA occurs. As shown in the figure below, the points in time of workload scale-out and scale-in match those displayed in the HPA event list. The point in time when the number of replicas increased is 18:46:01, and the point in time when the number of replicas decreased is 18:54:40.
    image-20201106164329173

    Summary

    This example demonstrates the HPA feature of TKE and shows how to use the TKE custom metric type network egress bandwidth as the metric for triggering workload HPA scaling.

    • When the actual metric value of the workload exceeds the target metric value configured by HPA, HPA calculates the proper number of replicas according to its scale-out algorithm and implements scale-out. This ensures that the metric levels of the workload meet expectations and that the workload can run in a healthy and stable manner.
    • When the actual metric value of the workload is far lower than the target metric value configured by HPA, HPA waits until the toleration time expires and then calculates the proper number of replicas to implement scale-in and release idle resources. This improves resource utilization. Moreover, throughout the process, relevant events are recorded in the HPA and workload event lists so that the whole workload scaling process is traceable.