Setting Cross-Bucket Replication

Last updated: 2020-11-13 11:30:54

    Overview

    Cross-bucket replication enables the automatic, asynchronous replication of incremental objects from a source bucket to a destination bucket. During replication, COS may also automatically replicate the object operations in the source bucket, such as PUT Object or DELETE Object. You can choose to enable or disable this feature as needed. For more information, please see Cross-Bucket Replication Overview.

    Prerequisites

    To enable cross-bucket replication, make sure that both the source and destination buckets have versioning enabled.

    Enabling Cross-Bucket Replication

    1. Log in to the COS Console, click Bucket List on the left sidebar, and select the bucket for which to configure cross-bucket replication.
    2. Go to Fault Tolerance and Disaster Recovery > Cross-Bucket Replication, and click Add Rule.
    3. To create a cross-bucket replication rule, make sure that versioning is enabled for both the source and destination buckets. After the configuration is complete, click OK.

    The fields to configure are outlined below:

    • Source Region: the region where your source bucket resides.
    • Applied to: indicates which objects will be replicated from the source bucket. The default option is The whole bucket. If a prefix is specified, only objects with this prefix will be replicated, such as files prefixed with logs/.
    • Resource Path: the path to your source bucket.
    • Destination Bucket: the bucket in which to store the replicas. The destination bucket can be in the same region as the source bucket, but cannot be a bucket that is not owned by the current account.
    • Destination Storage Class: storage class of the replicas. The storage class will be the same as that of the source objects by default. You can also choose a different storage class.
    • Sync Delete Marker: if you try to delete an object from a versioning-enabled bucket without specifying a version ID, COS will add a delete marker to the object. If you select this option, cross-bucket replication will copy this delete marker to the destination bucket. Regardless of whether the delete marker is copied, the object will not be deleted from the destination bucket. You can always access a noncurrent version of the object by specifying its version ID. For more information, please see Versioning Overview.

    Note:

    • Once the rule is created, you can enable/disable it under Status, or edit it under Operation.
    • If you set Applied to to The whole bucket in your first rule, you will be unable to add any new rules. In this case, you may choose to edit it, or simply delete it and add a new one.
    • If you set Applied to to Specific resources in your first rule, you can edit it and change this setting to The whole bucket if needed.

    Disabling Cross-Bucket Replication

    You can disable a cross-bucket replication rule using either of the following two options:

    • Status: switch this button off, and cross-bucket replication will be disabled temporarily. Copied data will be retained in the destination bucket but no more incremental data will be copied from the source bucket while replication is suspended. To re-enable cross-bucket replication, simply switch this button back on.
    • Delete: deletes an existing rule by clicking Delete under Operation. Copied data will be retained in the destination bucket but no more incremental data will be copied from the source bucket. To re-enable cross-bucket replication, you need to add a new rule.

    Note:

    • When cross-bucket replication is disabled, in-progress cross-bucket replication operations cannot proceed and will be aborted.
    • When cross-bucket replication is re-enabled for a bucket, it only applies to objects created after that time point.

    Was this page helpful?

    Was this page helpful?

    • Not at all
    • Not very helpful
    • Somewhat helpful
    • Very helpful
    • Extremely helpful
    Send Feedback
    Help