You can restore an object from the ARCHIVE or DEEP ARCHIVE storage class through the COS console. The restoration operation will create a replica of the object in the STANDARD storage class. You can read, download, or perform other operations on this replica within a specified time after which it will expire automatically. For COS storage classes, see Storage Class Overview.
If you restore objects from ARCHIVE, you will be billed at STANDARD rates. If you restore from DEEP ARCHIVE, you will be charged request fees at DEEP ARCHIVE rates, and traffic fees at STANDARD fees. For more pricing information, see Product Pricing.
- Log in to the COS Console and click Bucket List in the left sidebar to enter the bucket list page.
- Click the bucket name to enter the bucket details page.
- Click File List, select a single object or multiple objects you want to restore, and click Restore under More Actions.
- In the Restore Archived Objects pop-up window, configure the restoration mode and the validity period in days of the copy. The related configuration items are detailed below.
- Restoration Mode: expedited, standard, and bulk.
- Expedited: this is the fastest mode. Usually, archived files can be restored within 1-5 minutes. When you need to access your archival data urgently, you can use this mode to greatly reduce the time consumed. Please note that expedited mode is not available for DEEP ARCHIVE.
- Standard: files can be restored from ARCHIVE in 3 to 5 hours, and from DEEP ARCHIVE in 12 hours.
- Bulk: this is the lowest-cost mode. If your need for the archival data is not urgent, this mode can help retrieve massive amounts of data from ARCHIVE generally in 5 to 12 hours, and from DEEP ARCHIVE in 48 hours, both with ultra-low cost.
- Validity: set the number of days after which the copy would automatically expire and be deleted. The value range is 1 to 365 days. After the object is successfully restored, you can click Restore again to change the validity period of the copy in the pop-up window.
See the figure below:
- Click OK after configuration, and the object restoration will start. You can click Details to enter the object details page and check whether the restoration has been completed.
- After confirming that the object has been successfully restored, you can click Restore again to modify the validity period of its copy.
- Enter the object details page where you can access, download, and do more with the object.