用于前端直传 COS 的临时密钥安全指引

最后更新时间:2020-11-05 09:41:57

    简介

    在移动应用和 Web 应用中,您可以通过 iOS/Android/JavaScript SDK 在前端直接向 COS 发起请求,此时数据的上传和下载可以不经过您的后端服务器,既节约了您后端服务器的带宽和负载,还可以充分利用 COS 的带宽和全球加速等能力,提升您的应用体验。

    在实际应用中,您需要使用临时密钥作为前端的 COS 请求签名,以防止永久密钥的泄漏及越权访问等问题。然而,即便是使用临时密钥,如果您在生成临时密钥时指定了过大的权限或路径,那么同样有可能发生越权访问等问题,将对您的应用带来一定的风险,本文重点介绍了部分风险案例,以及您应当遵守的安全规范,以便让您的应用能够安全的使用 COS。

    前提条件

    本文假定您已经充分理解临时密钥的相关概念,能够生成及使用临时密钥来请求 COS。有关临时密钥的生成及使用指引,请参见 临时密钥生成及使用指引 文档。

    反面案例与安全规范

    反面案例一:资源(resource)超范围限定

    应用 A 在注册用户上传头像中使用到了 COS,每个注册用户的头像拥有固定的对象键app/avatar/<Username>.jpg,同时还会包含头像的不同尺寸,对应的对象键分别为app/avatar/<Username>_m.jpgapp/avatar/<Username>_s.jpg,后端为了方便使用,在生成临时密钥时直接将 resource 指定为qcs::cos:<Region>:uid/<APPID>:<BucketName-APPID>/app/avatar/*,此时恶意用户通过网络抓包等手段获取到生成的临时密钥后,可以覆盖上传任何用户的头像,产生越权访问,用户的合法头像数据被覆盖导致丢失。

    安全规范

    resource 代表临时密钥所允许访问的资源路径,此时需要充分考虑该路径所覆盖的最终用户,原则上 resource 所指定的资源要求仅能被单一用户所使用。此案例中指定的qcs::cos:<Region>:uid/<APPID>:<BucketName-APPID>/app/avatar/*显然会覆盖所有用户,因此存在安全漏洞。

    在该案例中,可以考虑将用户的头像路径修改为app/avatar/<Username>/<size>.jpg,此时可以将 resource 指定为 qcs::cos:<Region>:uid/<APPID>:<BucketName-APPID>/app/avatar/<Username>/*来满足规范要求;此外,resource 字段支持以数组的形式传入多个值。因此,您也可以显式指定多个 resource 值来完全限定用户有权限访问的最终资源路径,例如:

    "resource": [
        "qcs::cos:<Region>:uid/<APPID>:<BucketName-APPID>/app/avatar/<Username>.jpg",
        "qcs::cos:<Region>:uid/<APPID>:<BucketName-APPID>/app/avatar/<Username>_m.jpg",
        "qcs::cos:<Region>:uid/<APPID>:<BucketName-APPID>/app/avatar/<Username>_s.jpg"
    ]

    反面案例二:操作(action)超范围限定

    应用 B 提供一个公共的照片墙功能,所有照片均存放置在app/photos/*下面,客户端同时需要列出对象(GET Bucket)和下载对象(GET Object)操作,后端为了方便使用,在生成临时密钥时直接将 action 指定为了name/cos:*,此时恶意用户通过网络抓包等手段获取到生成的临时密钥后,可以对该资源路径下的任何对象执行所有对象操作(例如上传和删除等操作),产生越权访问,导致数据丢失,影响线上业务。

    安全规范

    action 代表临时密钥所允许请求的操作,原则上不允许使用name/cos:*等允许所有操作的临时密钥下发至前端,必须明确列出所有需要用到的操作,同时如果各操作所需的资源路径不同,则需要操作资源路径单独匹配,而不应合并处理。

    在该案例中,应当使用"action": [ "name/cos:GetBucket", "name/cos:GetObject" ]指明具体的操作。授权操作指引请参见 COS API 授权策略使用指引

    反面案例三:资源与操作超范围限定

    应用 C 提供一个管理工具,允许用户列出并下载所有人的文件(app/files/*),但只能上传和删除个人目录下的文件(app/files/<Username>/*),后端为了方便使用,在生成临时密钥时将2种权限,共4种操作(action)混合在一起。2种权限对应的资源路径也混合在一起,此时的临时密钥将具备资源路径中指定的更大权限,即用户可以列出、下载、上传和删除所有人的文件,恶意用户可以据此篡改或删除他人的文件,产生越权访问,用户的合法数据将暴露在风险之中。

    安全规范

    对于多个 action 与 resource 的组合,不应简单的将它们分别合并,而应当通过多个 statement 的形式组合在一起,避免简单的分别合并导致权限扩大化。

    在该案例中,应当使用

    "statement": [
        {
            "effect": "allow",
            "action": [
                "name/cos:GetBucket", 
                "name/cos:GetObject"
            ], 
            "resource": "qcs::cos:<Region>:uid/<APPID>:<BucketName-APPID>/app/files/*"
        },
        {
            "effect": "allow", 
            "action": [
                "name/cos:PutObject",
                "name/cos:DeleteObject"
            ],
            "resource": "qcs::cos:<Region>:uid/<APPID>:<BucketName-APPID>/app/files/<Username>/*"
        }
    ]

    反面案例四:越权获取临时密钥

    应用 D 提供一个论坛应用,论坛的帖子附件保存在 COS 上,该论坛应用分为不同的用户级别,只有发帖数达到一定阈值的活跃用户才能看到某个版面内的帖子和附件,对于一些公共版面,所有用户均可以查看其中的帖子和附件。
    在使用 COS 时,后端生成临时密钥的接口会根据前端传入的版面 ID ,生成允许下载对应版面附件的临时密钥。但在实现过程中,后端没有判断具体请求的用户是否有权限访问指定的版面 ID,导致任何人均可请求该接口获取可访问私密版面附件的临时密钥,产生越权访问,需要被限制访问的资源未能被有效限制,导致数据意外泄漏。

    安全规范

    对于获取临时密钥的接口,除了要保证获取到的临时密钥本身的权限在预期范围中,还应判断实际的业务场景,即正确的权限是否被正确的用户所请求,避免低权限用户拿到高权限的临时密钥。

    在本案例中,后端接口还应该判断当前请求用户是否具备访问特定版面的权限,如无权访问则不允许返回临时密钥。

    总结

    以上几个案例说明了在预期外扩大临时密钥的权限可能导致的安全风险。由于前端直传 COS 时,恶意用户比较容易获取到临时密钥内容,因此该场景相对于通过后端访问 COS 来说,需要开发者们更加注重权限的控制。

    本文提到的安全规范即最小权限原则,在实际应用中,根据 action 和 resource 可以枚举出所有可能的权限,例如3种 action 和2个 resource,可以计算出3 x 2=6个被允许访问的资源和对应的操作,您可以据此评估每一种情况是否符合预期,如超出预期权限范围,则应当考虑通过枚举多个 statement 的方式拆分权限。

    此外,用于生成临时密钥的接口本身也要充分考虑身份认证和鉴权处理,只有获取临时密钥的行为是安全的,这样得到的临时密钥才能确保真正安全。安全链条上,不能有任何一处疏漏!

    Was this page helpful?

    本页内容是否解决了您的问题?

    • 完全没帮助
    • 文档较差
    • 文档一般
    • 文档不错
    • 文档很好
    反馈
    帮助

Help & DocumentationCloud Object StorageBest PracticeAccess Control and Permission ManagementTemporary Key Security Guide for Frontend Direct Upload to COS

Temporary Key Security Guide for Frontend Direct Upload to COS

Last updated: 2020-03-25 18:21:46

PDF

Overview

In mobile and web applications, you can directly initiate requests to COS on the frontend through the SDK for iOS, Android, or JavaScript. In this way, data upload and download do not pass through your backend server, which reduces the bandwidth usage and load of your backend server and makes full use of various capabilities of COS, such as bandwidth and global acceleration, to improve the user experience of your application.

In actual usage, you need to use a temporary key as the signature for frontend COS requests to avoid problems such as leakage of the permanent key and unauthorized access. However, even with a temporary signature, if you specify excessive permissions or paths when generating it, such problems may still occur, which brings certain risks to your application. This document describes some bad examples and security regulations that you need to comply with for your application to securely use COS.

Prerequisites

This document assumes that you have a good understanding of the concepts related to temporary key and can generate and use a temporary key to send requests to COS. For more information on how to generate and use a temporary key, please see Temporary Key Generation and Usage Guide.

Bad Examples and Security Regulations

Bad example 1. Excessive resource

Application A uses COS when registered users upload profile photos. The profile photo of each user has a fixed object key app/avatar/<Username>.jpg and object keys app/avatar/<Username>_m.jpg and app/avatar/<Username>_s.jpg for different photo sizes. When you generate a temporary key on the backend, you specify resource as <BucketName-APPID>/app/avatar/* for convenience. In this case, when a malicious user gets the generated temporary key through methods such as packet capture, they can upload an image to overwrite any user's profile photo and thus gain unauthorized access, and the user's valid profile photo will be overwritten and lost.

Security regulation

resource indicates the resource path that a temporary key can access, and end users covered by this path need to be taken into full account. In principle, resources specified by resource should be used only by a single user. In this example, the specified <BucketName-APPID>/app/avatar/* will apparently cover all users, resulting in security vulnerabilities.

In this example, the path to user's profile photo can be modified to app/avatar/<Username>/<size>.jpg, and resource can be specified as <BucketName-APPID>/app/avatar/<Username>/* then to meet the security regulations. In addition, multiple values can be passed in to the resource field as an array. Therefore, you can explicitly specify multiple resource values to fully limit the final resource paths that users can access; for example:

"resource": [
    "<BucketName-APPID>/app/avatar/<Username>.jpg",
    "<BucketName-APPID>/app/avatar/<Username>_m.jpg",
    "<BucketName-APPID>/app/avatar/<Username>_s.jpg"
]

Bad example 2. Excessive action

Application B provides a public photo wall feature, all photos are stored in app/photos/*, and the client needs to perform GET Bucket and GET Object operations (i.e., action). When you generate a temporary key on the backend, you specify action as name/cos:* for convenience. In this case, a malicious user can get the generated temporary key through methods such as packet capture to perform all object operations (such as upload and deletion) on any object under the resource path and thus gain unauthorized access, which causes data loss and affects your online business.

Security regulation

action indicates operations allowed for the temporary key. In principle, a temporary key with name/cos:* that allows all operations should not be distributed to the frontend; instead, all needed operations must be explicitly listed. If the resource path needed by an operation cannot be accessed, you should match the operation and resource path separately rather than specifying them in batches.

In this example, you should use "action": [ "name/cos:GetBucket", "name/cos:GetObject" ] to specify operations.

Bad example 3. Excessive action and resource

Application C provides a management tool that allows a user to list and download all users' files (app/files/*) but only upload and delete files in their personal directory (app/files/<Username>/*). When you generate a temporary key on the backend, you mix 4 operations (i.e., action) in 2 permissions as well as the resource paths corresponding to the 2 permissions. In this case, the temporary key will have the greater permissions specified in the resource paths, that is, the user can list, download, upload, and delete all users' files. Through this vulnerability, a malicious user can tamper with or delete other users' files and thus gain unauthorized access, which exposes valid user data to risks.

Security regulation

For a combination of multiple action and resource values, you should not simply mix them in pair; instead, you should use multiple statements to match an action with the corresponding resource to avoid granting excessive permissions.

In this example, you should use the following code:

"statement": [
    {
        "effect": "allow",
        "action": [
            "name/cos:GetBucket", 
            "name/cos:GetObject"
        ], 
        "resource": "<BucketName-APPID>/app/files/*"
    },
    {
        "effect": "allow", 
        "action": [
            "name/cos:PutObject",
            "name/cos:DeleteObject"
        ],
        "resource": "<BucketName-APPID>/app/files/<Username>/*"
    }
]

Bad example 4. Unauthorized access to temporary key

Application D provides a forum service, and attachments to posts in the forum are stored in COS. The forum application has different user levels, and only active users with a certain number of posts can view posts and attachments in certain subforums. For some public subforums, all users can view the posts and attachments.
The temporary key generation API on the COS backend will generate a temporary key that allows downloading attachments in the corresponding subforum based on the subforum ID passed in by the frontend. However, in the implementation, the backend does not check whether the requesting user has access to the subforum of the specified ID; therefore, anyone can request this API to get a temporary key that allows access to attachments in private subforums and thus gain unauthorized access. The limitation on access to private resources does not take effect, leading to potential data leakage.

Security regulation

In addition to making sure that the permissions of the obtained temporary key are granted as expected, the API for getting the temporary key also needs to check whether the correct permissions are requested by correct users based on the actual business scenario, so as to prevent users with low permissions from getting the temporary key for high permissions.

In this example, the backend API should also check whether the requesting user has access to the specified subforum; and if not, it should not return a temporary key.

Summary

The examples above illustrate the security risks that may occur if permissions of a temporary key are more excessive than expected. In the scenario where files can be directly uploaded to COS on the frontend, as a malicious user can get a temporary key more easily than in the scenario where COS is accessed on the backend, you should pay more attention to permission control.

The security regulations mentioned in this document are based on the principle of least privilege. In actual usage, you can enumerate all possible permissions based on action and resources. For example, 3 action values and 2 resource values can form 3 * 2 = 6 accessible resources and corresponding operations. You can evaluate whether the permissions are granted as expected based on this enumeration; and if not, you should consider enumerating multiple statements to separate permissions.

In addition, you should take authentication into full account for the temporary key generation API. Only when the operation of getting the temporary key is secure can the obtained temporary key be truly secure. There must be no omissions on the security chain.